“Brave One” now available in my shop!

The Rural*ish “Brave One” rag quilt is based on a baby quilt I made for my friend Danielle, who just had her third (!) little boy – Asher. This little one will have to be a Brave One indeed to keep up with his two rambunctious big brothers!SONY DSC

This rag quilt is so so modern & graphic with its black and white tribal and geometric patterns!

SONY DSC

If you read this post about starting up my Etsy shop, you may remember that Danielle is a very creative mama who also LOVES fabric. Here are the fabrics that she picked for Asher’s crib:

I got sucked into a fabric vortex on this one, in part because the PRESSURE WAS ON making a quilt for a fellow fabric fiend. Tribal is all the rage right now but it was surprisingly hard to find 5 coordinating tribal prints that matched Asher’s nursery. So I decided to go straight black and white, which I’d never done before, and I. LOVE. IT!!!!

SONY DSC

Turns out even black and white was difficult – who knew? I spent hours and hours looking for the perfect black and white arrows that were the right proportion. This was my first attempt (below) – the top feather/arrow fabric is actually more of a muddy gray and the white (in person) was more creamy – can you see how it doesn’t quite match? No can do.

SONY DSC

My second attempt at arrows I decided I would splurge and pay twice as much for Spoonflower fabric, which is where all of the really awesome arrow fabrics seem to live. After waiting weeks for the fabric to arrive, my heart sank when I ripped open the envelope and saw arrows that were way too gigantic. I didn’t even take a picture of it, I was so mad!

So then I gave up and decided to just go with 4, which turned out just great.

I almost went with a gold back to match the crib bedding but we ended up with green because it matches Asher’s dresser almost perfectly.

RagQuilt_BraveOne4

Brave One’s finished size is roughly 32×40. This size is perfect for a baby shower gift, tummy time, a play date at the park, cartoon watching, or to use in the carseat or stroller, like this little brave one:…isn’t he ferocious?! This lil hunk o’ cheeks is how I get my baby fix these days!

RagQuilt_BraveOne6

Here’s what Asher’s mama said about his quilt:

“I absolutely LOVE Asher’s ‘Brave One’! Cannot say enough awesome things about my Rural*ish rag quilt.”

SONY DSC

 

via CUSTOMIZE IT Black and white tribal geometric rag by ruralish.

Signature

 

 

 

 

P.S. I’m linking up with “Show and Tell Tuesday” at Fresh Squeezed Fabrics – go check out some other fun projects!

2 thoughts on ““Brave One” now available in my shop!

Leave a comment