Dutch Oven Peach Dump Cake

We are fairly new to dutch oven cooking around here but take the chance to practice every time we go camping. Really, I should be practicing in my back yard but haven’t gotten that hard core about it yet! We are coming into camping season here in Northern California…in fact, our first camping trip is a little over a month away! My friends and I already have our menus planned…that’s how seriously we take our camping food, haha. So that got me thinking about what sort of dutch oven deliciousness I should make, which reminded me of the peach dump cake we made on the same trip last year…

Dutch oven peach dump cake, made by Rural*ish

Cooking with view – you can’t beat it!

This recipe was super easy, even for us newbies (a-hem…that’s why they call it “dump” cake…you literally just dump everything in), and you really cannot beat eating a warm (paper) bowl of peachy deliciousness in camp!

Dutch oven peach dump cake, made by Rural*ish

Dutch Oven Peach Dump Cake

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

recipe from: barbequelovers.com

Dutch oven peach dump cake, made by Rural*ish

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans of peaches – homemade canned peaches are even better
  • butter
  • 1 vanilla cake mix
  • cinnamon
  • brown sugar
  • oil or shortening

Directions:

  1. Lightly coat the inside of the dutch oven with cooking oil or shortening
  2. Pour the peaches into the dutch oven
  3. Pour the dry vanilla cake mix on top of the peaches
  4. Add several pats of butter evenly spaced on the dry cake mix – about 5-6 total
  5. Lightly dust the top of the dry cake mix with the cinnamon and brown sugar, to taste

Place 8-10 briquettes on the bottom of the dutch oven and 18-20 pieces on top of the oven.

Cook for ~38 minutes and check to see if it is done. It will be done if you can put a fork in the cake mix and the fork comes out clean. If it is not done, check again every 5 minutes.

Need I warn you that this will be HOT?! So please be careful. 🙂

This was so, so yummy but I will tell you that it is very sweet with the store bought peaches. We like things a little less sweet, so last summer I planned (way) ahead and canned some peaches for this summer’s dutch oven treats. That way I could control the sweet factor. Nothing like being prepared! If you are not a canner and don’t want it too sweet, I would buy peaches in light syrup.

Enjoy, and happy camping!

Signature

 

 

 

 

P.S. Want more dutch oven inspiration? Follow my “Dutch Oven” Pinterest board!

 

Leave a comment